What to do with all these tomatoes? One of my favorite recipes for making use of fresh, ripe, garden tomatoes is this Italian inspired tomato salad with red onions, parsley, oregano, and avocados. My friend Michelle (we’ve known each other since age 13) first introduced me to this salad several years ago. It’s one her favorite salads to bring to summer potlucks and family gatherings. Michelle comes from a large extended Italian American family that truly loves food. The salad is based on a traditional Italian tomato salad, but with avocados taking the place of mozzarella. I’ve been making a platter of this salad every few days with my ripe tomatoes. It’s easy to pull together and makes for a great presentation to serve to guests. Sprinkle with chopped fresh parsley, minced garlic, and crumbled dried oregano. Serve immediately or cover with plastic wrap and let sit at room temp for an hour or two before serving. Do not refrigerate.