“This is one of those dinners I pulled together when my refrigerator was dismally empty.” I’m more of a white meat girl than a steak girl. So on the rare occasions that I cook steak, I feel like I can justify investing in a good cut so I splurged on a great piece of sirloin – about 2.5 cm / 1 inch. I hadn’t actually planned to make steak for dinner. I purchased it on impulse when I was out doing non food shopping chores, without thinking of what to have on the side. When I got home, I stood in front of my refrigerator and inspected the contents, contemplating what to serve it with. It was sadly lacking. The way I cook, I buy what I need and I plan meals so there are common ingredients. So once I get through the meals I planned to cook, my refrigerator is usually pretty empty. Such was the day that I came home with these precious sirloin steaks. I didn’t even have a single potato lying around. And the only bread I had was frozen sandwich bread. What I did have though was leftover pesto from the Pea, Zucchini and Pesto Orzo (Risoni) that I made. And a red capsicum (bell pepper). As I was feeling particularly determined to make a meal worthy of these steaks, I even made flatbreads to serve on the side. Yup, I really did! It’s actually really easy because it’s no yeast flatbread and it requires hardly any kneading. The dough literally takes 5 minutes to make, then you just let it rest, roll it out and pan fry it. The flat bread is really soft and pliable so you can even use it as a wrap. I’m obsessed with this flatbread. And that’s the story of this steak dinner and how it came about. Now getting back to business. Eating it.

  SaveSave SaveSave

Sirloin Steak with Pesto  Bell Peppers  Capsicum    Flatbread - 38Sirloin Steak with Pesto  Bell Peppers  Capsicum    Flatbread - 93Sirloin Steak with Pesto  Bell Peppers  Capsicum    Flatbread - 81Sirloin Steak with Pesto  Bell Peppers  Capsicum    Flatbread - 29