Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole

It never even crossed my mind to make a recipe such as this Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole from anything but scratch. But a quick Google and I was somewhat bemused to find that there are in fact many versions of similar rice casseroles made using canned soup. I’ve never tried this with canned soup, and I never intend to. Having tried canned soup in various forms in my time, I can say with absolute confidence that homemade from scratch is tastier, it’s better for you and it’s easy!

How to make Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole – from scratch!

Sauté garlic and onion in butter and/or oil, then mostly cook the chicken – it finishes cooking with the rice; Add flour, milk, broth and basic seasonings (salt, pepper, thyme), then add the rice right into the same pot. As the rice cooks, the flour thickens the liquid which makes the sauce beautifully creamy; After 12 minutes of simmering, add the broccoli and cook for a further 3 minutes; then Stir through cheese, top with more cheese then give it a quick broil/grill just to melt the cheese.

What this Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole tastes like

It tastes like a creamy, cheesy risotto, it truly does. Except it’s made with normal white rice. And being the rice snob that I am ( 🤗Asian blood), I promise you that this is as far from gluey rice as you can get. The rice is just cooked to tender al dente and it’s smothered in a creamy sauce (but no cream), as opposed to overcooked super soft rice that is gluggy with thick sauce. Here’s close up proof – see? 🙂 If it were overcooked and gluey, the surface of the rice grains would look mushy.

I wasn’t quite sure what to call this recipe. I think of this as a rice bake which is completely illogical because it’s not cooked in the oven at all. Though someone please remind me a few months down the track to share the recipe for this that’s made entirely in the oven! So in the end, I decided to call it a casserole, guessing that is what normal people would call this. Is that what this is?? I’m not sure. I know I’ll always think of this as a “Rice Bake”! – Nagi x

Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole

Watch how to make it

Chicken and Rice Casserole originally posted January 2018. Updated for housekeeping matters in January 2019 – no change to recipe, I wouldn’t dare!

More Chicken and Broccoli recipes

For those of you who consider these standard weekly grocery items like I do!

Life of Dozer

This is how he leaps into the water – eyes tightly closed and nose up. If he were human, he’d be holding his nose and wearing goggles. For sure.

One Pot Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole - 67One Pot Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole - 76One Pot Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole - 1One Pot Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole - 65One Pot Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole - 84One Pot Chicken Broccoli Rice Casserole - 74