I hope so, because that’s exactly what is happening with these ginger scones. My brother’s girlfriend Shelley brought a batch by the other day and I couldn’t stop eating them. She had fallen in love with ginger scones at a local bakery and balked at paying $5 a piece for them, so came up with her own terrific recipe. These scones are dotted with sweet bits of candied ginger, and there is some lemon zest for a little lemony kick as well. I’ve made only the slightest adjustments to Shelley’s recipe. She uses a combination of 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all purpose, where I found I liked a version with just all purpose flour better. Feel free to swap out as much as two thirds of the flour with whole wheat if you prefer using whole wheat flour. (If you do so, you may need to add a little more buttermilk).

  • If you don’t have buttermilk you can substitute with a tablespoon of lemon juice and 3/4 cup minus one tablespoon of regular milk. Stir in the candied ginger, lemon zest, and fresh ginger until evenly mixed. To store, allow first to cool to room temperature, then seal in a freezer bag. How to Make Candied Ginger by David Lebovitz