It is easily adaptable to any fresh vegetables you have and you may choose to add scrambled eggs if you want

Easy vegetable fried rice recipe

Today I am sharing with you this super easy fried rice with Nigerian twist. I know we all love our takeout fried rice. You are about to change that as this easy fried rice would give your takeout a run for its money. I know I say this a lot about my takeout recipes like this salt and pepper chicken and salt and pepper chicken wings honestly the reviews speak for themselves. My choice of Chinese takeaways is not much but the ones I love, I practice and perfect them at home to make it easy to whip up when I crave them. Not only am I saving my coins, I am saving myself and my family from any unhealthy ingredients added to many takeaway dishes. In my opinion, homemade fried rice is the best! End of story. Anyways, back to this super easy fried rice recipe, I am taking this recipe back to my Nigerian root but making it the quicker way and also not compromising on taste. If you are familiar with Nigerian jollof rice then I bet you’ve heard of this fried rice as they are often served together along with other sides at Nigerian parties. So I am sure you are curious to know what is the difference in Nigerian fried rice and Chinese fried rice, ok here we go. PS: I cooked the rice in my instant pot pressure cooker and it did make the job quicker as it only takes 6 minutes of active cooking time. Here is how to cook instant pot basmati rice and instant pot brown rice. Do you love flavoured and seasoned rice? then try my garlic butter rice recipe.

Difference between Nigerian fried rice and Chinese fried rice

  1. Chinese fried rice uses soy sauce, oyster sauce, sesame oil in its recipe while Nigerian version uses curry powder and dried thyme
  2. Nigerian fried rice is made with pre-seasoned rice while Chinese fried rice is made with plain cold white rice.
  3. Similarities includes the use of fresh vegetables and the omission of scrambled eggs if you wish. In fact, Nigerian fried rice does not have scrambled eggs in it.
  4. both recipes are easily customisable, you can use any fresh vegetables you have at hand. Without further ado, let’s get down to business and make the best homemade vegetable fried rice you would love.

Ingredients

Cooked and cooled Long grain or basmati rice make sure the grains are separated. My rice was cooked with vegetable broth instead of water. Vegetable oil Vegetable bouillon powder Dried thyme Hot curry powder, not the Caribbean curry powder Light soy sauce, optional if using salt Butter Veggies Diced carrots Frozen peas Chopped white onions Green bell peppers Chopped green onions Red chilli pepper, substitute for red pepper flakes Sweet corn

How to make easy vegetable fried rice

Heat vegetable oil in a wok or skillet over medium heat, add diced carrots and green bell pepper and stir fry for one minute. Add chopped onions and continue to stir fry for another two minutes. Followed by the frozen peas, stir fry for another minute. (at this point, the whole vegetables would have cooked evenly and would be the perfect texture) Add curry powder and dried thyme, briefly stir to combine, then add the chopped green onions and sweet corn and stir to combine. Add butter and stir until melted into the veggies. Lastly, add the cooled rice and stir fry until combined.  Finish off with a tablespoon of light soy sauce but this is optional as I didn’t use any Take it off the heat and serve immediately.

How to serve

I served this fried rice with oven-baked drumsticks, baked salmon or codfish.

Variations and tips

Swap the rice for cauliflower rice or brown rice for healthier version Use any vegetables of choice like thinly sliced cabbage or chopped broccoli. For best result and evenly cooked vegetables, stir fry the harder vegetables first then go in with the softer ones that would take less time to cook. Use a day-old rice if you can, otherwise, cool the freshly made rice on the countertop in a colander or in the fridge.

How to store

Leftover fried rice can stay up to 5 days in the fridge in an airtight container and make sure the rice is completely cooled before storing in the fridge. You can store this fried rice for up to 3 months in the freezer.

Other easy rice recipes you would love

Mushroom rice Pressure cooker rice and chicken Instant pot coconut rice Easy spinach rice Instant pot rice pudding Instant pot Mexican rice If you made this easy vegetable fried rice recipe, don’t forget to leave me feedback and rate it 5 stars. Tag me @thedinnerbite on Instagram and save away to your Pinterest. Please subscribe to the blog if you haven’t for free new recipes in your inbox DID YOU MAKE THIS RECIPE? PLEASE RATE IT AND LEAVE ME A COMMENT. USE #THEDINNERBITE OR TAG @THEDINNERBITE ON INSTAGRAM SO I CAN SEE YOUR PHOTOS, I WOULD LOVE TO SEE YOUR CREATIONS. THANK YOU!

Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 96Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 45Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 27Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 2Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 18Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 47Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 87Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 22Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 3Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 72Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 77Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 48Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 33Easy Vegetable Fried Rice Recipe - 84