My kitchen is under construction. Right before Christmas. It is a nightmare. My heart yearns to be in the kitchen. This morning a majorly dusty portion of construction was scheduled to begin so I hurried and made a quick breakfast for me and the kids before being kicked out for the day. I had some red potatoes that needed to be used up and a little bit of leftover bacon. My mind turned to the book I’ve been reading recently, “These Is My Words” (if you haven’t read it, put it on your list because it is a great one). Since my heart has been yearning for the simple olden days of living on a ranch in the territory I figured my stomach might be yearning for some ranch food as well. A little potato bacon hash sure did the trick and after breakfast I felt like I was ready to rustle the herd. My herd is just two little kids, but I’m pretty sure cows are more obedient. Either way my stomach is happy and maybe once the herd is off to school and naps I can go ahead and let my mind return to the turn of the century Arizona Territories. Ingredients 3 tablespoons butter 1 lb red potatoes, cut into bite sized chunks 1/2 onion 4 strips bacon, cooked and diced Salt and Pepper Instructions

  1. Melt butter in a heavy skillet over medium high heat.
  2. Toss in potatoes. Season with salt and pepper. Cook for about 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  3. Add in onions and bacon. Continue cooking for another 10 minutes or so until the potatoes are tender. Cooking time will depend on the size of your potato pieces. Taste and add more salt and pepper as desired. What is a hash? Why a hash is a wonderful thing! It’s just leftover meat chopped up and cooked with potato. It is super easy, and full of flavor. It makes for a hearty and filling breakfast. It goes really well with eggs and toast. Δ Δ

easy skillet potato bacon hash - 51easy skillet potato bacon hash - 46easy skillet potato bacon hash - 30